Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Quik vs GT450

not real name 500 Club

Quik vs GT450

I may have the option coming up soon to purchase a share in a Quik. The question is: should i go for it or wait for a GT450 share to come up? I have flown Quiks before, and the handling is fantastic, but as I understand it, the GT is a more rounded machine. To give a bit of background here, I have been flying a Mercury (Alpha wing) since 2008, and I absolutely love it. I am not a 'get there fast' type, and much prefer to watch the scenery go past. However, The issues I have had with the Alpha are poor headwind penetration, and lacklustre climb two up (503). These combined make two up touring a bit of a chore, but solo flying a joy. What I really love about the Alpha is the ability to land it on a sixpence, put it down exactly where I want. I have heard many people talk about the Quik in almost evangelical terms, but I have also heard that it drops like a brick and takes an age to unstick.

So really, what I'm asking is: can one tour in a Quik, 2 up and with fuel and camping gear? Can a Quik land on small grass strips? Is the good handling worth sacrificing that extra 41 kilos?

EDIT: Reading the above, what I realise I want is: an Alpha that will do 75mph and 1000fpm, but still trim down to 50 to admire the scenery and then land in a back garden. Not too much to ask hmm? :smilewinkgrin:

Diamond geezer 500 Club

Quik vs GT450

David McAfee wrote:
    So really, what I'm asking is: can one tour in a Quik, 2 up and with fuel and camping gear? Can a Quik land on small grass strips? Is the good handling worth sacrificing that extra 41 kilos?
    I'd say the one way to answer the handling question is to find an instructor with a 450 and go for an hour's instruction.

A friend has toured with his g/f in Quik, another friend can land and take off with his on a 320m strip, no drama.

I'd say, though, having not flown the original Quik, that currency and skill levels need to be maintained.