Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 582 vs 912

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

582 vs 912

I'm new to the sport and currently in the market to buy a flexwing. I was hoping for a half-share in a Quantum 912 or something similar but finding someone willing to sell a half or to go halfers with is proving more difficult than expected.
    Another option would be to go into soul ownership which I think funds can just stretch to but then I'm limited funds-wise as to what I can get.
    There is a Quantum 582 blue-top for sale which is, apparently, in good nick which I am seriously considering.
    I was ideally after a 4-stroke machine, partly out of familiarity to my instructors machine, and partly out of trying to future-proof my investment to not having to upgrade to a different machine in the near future.

My question is, what could I do in a Quantum 912 that I couldn't do in a Quantum 582? Or, possibly, what wouldn't you do with a 582 that you would with a 912?

Help this newbie out

Maybe I can partly answer your question but have not experiance of the actual machines themselves, but as far as the engines are concerned I can give you a list of pros & cons. I've no doubt that others can add to both.

Very expensive to buy
    lower fuel consuption
    longer service intervals
    Servicing seems to require a professional service agent (normaly at any rate). but requires less servicing to keep it relieable
    On many microlights it is heavy and can limit fuel load
    Spares are very, very expensive

582 (bluetop with the beefed up crank)
    Heavier fuel burn, specialy if heavy handed on the throttle
    Cheaper to buy
    Lighter allowing a heavier load, although bear in mind that you'll need more fuel
    Parts cheaper