Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how old are flexwing flyers...

Hi all.
    I'm 60 years old and training on a flexwing, having great fun.
    Chatting at a club meeting with a few beers ( not flying the next day ) and age came up thinking I was the oldest, at the club, but no.
    So I'm asking all out there, who is the oldest flexwing flyer out there and there age...we have a sweep stack running.,
    So please reply, there's a nights drinking on this... :burger:

how old are flexwing flyers...

Hello, I believe there is a flex pilot at Otherton airfield somewhere around seventy years young. I think he only got his license about a year ago.

Comment

And fair play to anyone in their 60's flying a flex. I'm 42 and sometimes I feel like my arms are about to drop off when I'm trying to land the thing. Maybe I'm just weak and pathetic!

Comment

64 in March - and I've been flying flexwings since 1972.

Marc - don't know what you are flying but I have very little upper body strength - the ' secret ' to flying is " let the machine fly - its far better at it than you are" if your arms are tired your ' working it too hard'.

Comment

A pall of mine flew a Quik until he was 71

Comment

There are some ancient ones at St Micheal's (near Preston). I don't know exact age but Neil King and Alan Wetherrall got a special certificate at one of the international competitions for having a combined age of about 300.

Laurie (2)

Comment

Paul Wilkinson wrote: 64 in March - and I've been flying flexwings since 1972.

Marc - don't know what you are flying but I have very little upper body strength - the ' secret ' to flying is " let the machine fly - its far better at it than you are" if your arms are tired your ' working it too hard'.
              61 and flying since 1993