Jennifer Anniston espouses SSDR philosophy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jennifer Anniston espouses SSDR philosophy

Just heard her say (in the Emirates advert) in response to a kid saying 'when I'm a pilot you'll be able to fly round the world very fast'
    'Oh that's a shame", says Jennifer " it's so nice up here".
    Ben and Paul said to me that they never really understood the race to get from one clubhouse to another in the minimum of time and spend most of your day on the ground rather than actually in the air.
    Mike

I remember landing on Bute 35 minutes after the hotship had landed and being asked sarcastically where I had been for said 35 minutes and I replied smugly FLYING
    I do however see the place for said hotships namely trying to get back from Oban into a 35 to 40 mph headwind dooable in a 90mph+ machine not a hope in hell in a 582 powered 55mph one

Comment

Well personally I would not want to be flying in a 35 - 40mph headwind (or tailwind) over the Scottish mountains in anything.
      AndyB

Comment

Bit of a duff argument really. You can still fly as long if you want to, just you can get further.
        'Hot ship' fliers still do as many, if not more hours (due to larger weather window).

Comment

been there and done it Andy all you need is to make sure you are well above hill height and stay well away from the lee side of the hills also crossed the Irish sea when it was blowing 35.
          Andy F you are 100% correct in that the weather window is larger but there are a lot of pilots out there that very rarely travel anymore than 75miles away from their home airfields.
          There are a few up here who travel to Bute and no farther but own machines capable of flights to the south coast and then the opposite end of the spectrum one lad from Strathaven who flew his flexwing to the faroes and did another trip to lands end and back in one day.

Comment