Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

High performance training aircraft, yes or no?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High performance training aircraft, yes or no?

After reading the AAIB report into the student flying into the HV wires, makes me wonder if there may have been an element of "look at me" syndrome as he was so near habitation at such low altitude.
    Of course an instructor would never allow a student to go solo unless he was absolutely sure of their capabilities of handling such a machine and I have no experience of a Quik having learnt in a Quantum however I do remember my instructor stating "this accelerates quicker than a Porsche" in a bid to try inject some enthusiasm into my early flights.
    Just wondering how many other incidents have occurred to low hour pilots using the more high power/faster / potentially more demanding aircraft types whilst training?
    Would the "look at me" syndrome be quite so appealing in a slow old machine?
    Maybe a return to XL's and Q's for solo hour building then a conversion onto the more sprightly machines?
    Just trying to open a thoughtful discussion.

I think in some respects genies can't be put back into bottles.

Virtually all flex wing training is done on Quantum/Quik types, and students have aspirations.

If the reward for the competence of solo is to wheel a mid 1980s machine out of the hangar, how keen will they be to continue?

I went from a Quantum to a Q, and the two flights necessary to convert me ready for solo were rather uncomfortable, and the lower climb rate didn't give confidence on small strip. It ran rather warm two up and PFLs were a bit of a risk... I did the necessary hours pre GST on it solo, then within 4 hours of passing my GST I'd bought the Quantum I learned in. What a relief.