Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Homebuilt engine

Hello all,

I am a student pilot (3-axis) and new to this forum. I have a project in progress which, while not strictly microlight related, may be of interest to some.

I am in the process of building a 7 cylinder radial engine of 2300cc with a projected output around 100BHP at 3500rpm.

The engine uses motorcycle cylinder heads (pushrod OHV) and barrels. These are from the ubiquitous Dnepr.

The images show the whole engine in CAD and the assembly of crankshaft, master and slave rods and pistons.

The crank is machined from EN24T and is a bolt-up assembly, split at the crankpin.

The rods are machined from aluminium 2014A-T6 with EN24T steel side plates for the master rod and SAE660 bronze bushes.

The pistons are machined from aluminium 2618-T6511. The slipper design avoids the traditional challenge of machining elliptical skirts.

This engine will never fly. I expect it to weigh around 120kg dry and I wouldn't like to trust the Dnepr parts at full power for any period of time.

There is a plan to use the engine, but that's another story for another day.

If there is any interest, I have a series of photos of the various machining operations and components. So far I have made the crank, rods, pistons, 2 oil pumps and I'm partway into the maincases.

Attached files
    Pete T.

"A closed mouth gathers no feet".

Homebuilt engine

The engine now has a crankcase, shown with the crank, rods and pistons fitted.
    It's getting very heavy and the next job is to fabricate a test stand.

Attached files
    Pete T.

Comment

Homebuilt engine

What a shame it wont fly...sure looks nice.
      "When once you have tasted flight...you will forever walk with your eyes turned skywards..."

https://www.youtube.com/user/nickjaxe/videos.

Comment

Homebuilt engine

Wish you'd got into a V-Twin, using bits cannibalised from the industrial motors, that would fly.

Impressed

Kev
        G-KEVA
        BMAA 5696